I'm a newbie to the diet – is there a list of allowed foods?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by NikkiD
    on

Hi everyone, My name i s Nikki and I am on day 4 of the BSD. My goal is to lose 15 kgs. I am not diabetic but my husband has type 2 diabetes. I bought the book for him and after reading it he is very motivated and hopes to reverse his diabetes. Slowly over the years my weight has crept up kilo by sneaky kilo. And I must admit I have always viewed myself as having little will power. I often don’t stick to diets and think’ I’ll start tomorrow’. My husband and I did some preparation (mental & practical) leading up to starting. I think this has helped, mind you I am still in the first week, as me again in 4 weeks.
    Any hoo, I am looking for a list of allowed foods. I read on some of the forums here that some one has baked beans, lentils and carrots. Are legumes allowed? And carrots? I presume pumpkin is not? Michael says on this site that gravy can be used for flavor – is instant gravy in a packet allowed?
    Can anyone supply me a list of what is allowed and what is not. thank you in advance

• posted by Igorasusual
    on

Hi NikkiD and welcome!

It sounds to me as if you’ve not read the book The Blood Sugar Diet? It’s available in paperback and kindle.

Strongly suggest that you do get it and read it as it’s quite important to understand the health principles behind it – lots of examples and also recipes.

Designed to help people who are Type 2 diabetic or pre diabetic but definitely not just them. Helps reboot your whole system and get you out of carbohydrate addiction.

Basic principles are
    No refined carbs (sugar, flour, bread, pastry, pasta, most breakfast cereals or rice, potatoes)