Gearing up for April/May

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by MerryMary
    on

Hi all, I have been reading posts on the forum and am so inspired by all of you. Thankyou so much for the laughs and for helping me find the courage to commence the BSD. Most of all thankyou to Dr Michael Mosley who I was lucky enough to meet recently when he visited our city on his book promotional tour. As a registered nurse and midwife, I just hope and pray that your work is truly taken notice of in the medical world so that we can turn this sugar addictive pandemic around across the globe.

That brings me to me! I have read the 5:2 fast diet book and am half way through the Blood Sugar Diet book….I am a shift working health professional who has struggled to maintain my weight my whole life. I am not morbidly obese, but I am not blessed with great height either and therefore am basically short and dumpy ๐Ÿ™‚ I could run a weight loss clinic, I know so much about GI and various weight control programs such as WW etc. but I have never been able to consistently maintain a slim weight, and have slipped back into easy carbs eating all too often. I am now staring down the barrel at 60 in the next few years, and arthritis, oesphogeal reflux and chronic tiredness are creeping in. My BSL is in normal range although I have not done a GTT and I do have signs and symptoms of Syndrome X or metabolic syndrome. I am post menopausal and have an apple shaped body and am carrying too much weight around my middle. My parents died in their 50’s of heart disease, one brother has had a quadruple heart bypass at age 63, one sister a triple heart bypass in her 50’s, and is now a Type 2 diabetic. My cholesterol, tryglicerides, and liver enzymes are climbing and yet still I have not found a way to get myself in gear to pe