The issue of COFFEE!

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by hails
    on

Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone is the authority on coffee intake during this diet, I’ve been a part of this lifestyle change since August 2016 and in 3 months lost 12 kgs ( very little exercise…i know, not ideal!) I’ve always enjoyed a cup of coffee in the morning, i have rarely had another during my day noting it is full of calories. Also in reading the literature ( although I cant remember where exactly in the Mosley book) I remember reading that Coffee should be avoided if possible as it is a diuretic and also considered a meal source due to the milk.
    Now my issue is not for myself, I’m a health professional so i know the calorie content for a standard cappuccino, my real q. is that my extended female family have taken this journey as well. They drink copious amounts of instant coffee with skinny milk, no sugar. My SIL is telling my MIL that its OK to drink as much as she likes because coffee is an appetite suppressor ( which it is!) however it is still a diuretic ( which is my agument) and my MIL would rather drink 6 cups of instant before a bottle of water- not because she enjoys it but because its habit and she’d rather have something hot in her hands ( even though we are in Melbourne, and its summer and 31C atm.)

So….. given that its instant coffee with skinny milk and no added sugar– how much can they actually consume before it starts to impede the diet.

Love to hear some feedback on this!

Cheers,
    Hayley

• posted by cmawp
    on

The idea of coffee is no bad thing in my book, as long as it’s balanced with water intake. Ketosis and restricting water intake just don’t work.