New to BSD – would love some pointers

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by doushie
    on

Hi all,

I’m new to the BSD – been referred to it by my doctor although not for diabetic reasons, but to lose weight.

I’ve been following the plan for a couple of weeks on and off (due to me being a major emotional and comfort eater, and having a few ‘troublesome’ moments in my life recently). Anyway, I’ve kicked my bum into gear and have started over this week and I’m sticking to it!

I wonder if any of you lovely people have any great low carb, low sugar, low calorie snack ideas? I have been able to go without my desserts, but sometime I really want something ‘sweet’ to hit the spot. I have just seen in M&S, apple crisps. Would these be ok occasionally on this plan? Their 104 Kcal for 30g serving.

Any advice greatly appreciated!

• posted by Timmy
    on

Firstly, welcome to the forum, secondly, hurrah for the doctor that has recommended the BDS!!

The one thing you really need to drill down on food is the carbs and the sugars. So much stuff is made to look healthy but in reality is can be the opposite!

Looking at those apple crisps, they have 23.4g of carbs of which which 21.9 is sugar, per 30g bag. I’d say this is a definite no no. They are basically nearly 100% carbs and would eat up half of your entire daily carb allowance.