My First Day!

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Hillybob
    on

I would love some encouragement. A daunting first day today for me. I am nearly 58, 5ft 8″ and I weigh 14st 4lbs. I am determined to lose 42lbs but know I am going to struggle at the beginning. It is fantastic to see all the encouragement on here and I would really appreciate any tips or help that anyone can throw my way! Thank you πŸ™‚

• posted by Flash21
    on

Hello Hillybob,

It’s my first day too! You’ve already made the best step by deciding to follow the diet. As I’m also a newbie I don’t yet have tons of advice to offer but my suggestions would be to:

Plan your meals and snacks – far less easy to be derailed if you know what you’re having for the day and it’s there and waiting for you in the fridge and/or cupboard.

If you feel tempted to stray off plan, ask yourself, which do I want more – this snack/bread/chocolate/whatever, or to lose weight/control blood sugar/feel happier etc?

Be lenient with yourself! As you get started, every day will be a bit of learning curve. If you go over/under your carb or calorie allowance, don’t stress. It’ll still no doubt have been a better day than previous habits. And you can always start again at the next meal.

Enjoy it! Take some time to try new foods and recipes. You might be surprised at what you like!

Good luck with your 8 weeks. Keep us posted with how you’re getting on πŸ™‚

• posted by topcac
    on

It’s Day 8 for me – and this morning was my first official weight in – 7lbs gone – and I don’t have much to lose (about 2 stone). My tips are:

Drink lots and lots of water in the first few days especially, as your body is going to be hungry and it’s going to nag you to eat something.