Where do I start?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by oldiecot63
    on

Hello! I’m new to the BSD format, having followed the recommendation of my Diabetic Nurse at my GP’s surgery earlier this week. As Diabetic T2, that condition is under control via Medications; I have a Cholesterol count of 3.1, am in relatively good health apart from Arthritis in knees and hands, that last point being a limit to serious physical exercise. My weight has been constant at the same level for years, but I need to lose some.

But having purchased the BSD book as part the Nurse’s advice, I’ve started to look through it, and immediately, am wondering where I go from here? I’m faddy with foods; yes, I admit that. I’m a Scot and though I have avoided the Deep Fried Mars Bar syndrome, I tend to eat all the wrong things, mainly by choice, but from other factors. I cannot abide Vegetables & Pulses – hate them with a vengeance, taste wise, so they are out. Due to a medical issue, I have to avoid Spices, Peppers, Garlic and related products including sauces at all costs, otherwise I can become really ill. I don’t drink Teas, Coffee or Alcohol – I’m a poor example of a Scot!

I do eat Meats, Poultry, a little bit of Fish, Eggs and Salad items. Will also have Brown Rice, and limit myself with potatoes, which I do like. but I don’t like Pasta. Some may say it is a bland diet, but it is how I get by. It does mean I avoid a great deal of foreign foods, eg, Indian, Chinese, Far Eastern and other similar cuisines. I’ve been brought up on a typical British diet of Meat and potatoes, salads and so on.