Week One – Any Other Newbies Out There?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Lankylady
    on

Hi, I am just starting out on BSD. Have tried other low carb diets but never seem be able to keep going on just protein & fat as found had unpleasant side effects. This looked more sustainable and am now 3 days in and loving it. At 5′ 9″ and 250 pounds I have a way to go but my Mother is Type 2 and having noticed symptoms after eating high sugar food, such as really lethargic and fluctuating body temp, etc, though have never had my own blood sugar noted as high medically, I can only benefit from this. Tried some extra exercise over the weekend but felt a bit light headed, not sure if that is just getting used to low calorie intake or maybe should take it easy at first – anyone have similar experience? Am using the recipes in the book and can highly recommend Roast Pork with Apples & Shallots and Beetroot Falafels ๐Ÿ™‚

• posted by shalimar
    on

I personally think …. when you are getting used to a very strict diet, as in the 800 calorie one …. take it easy … your system can’t just go from zero to 60, especially if you are not used to that level of exercise ….. take it easy and work your way up to the level of exercise that you want. If you’ve been doing some walking don’t start jogging or running all in one step. Walk … walk a little more, walk more distance or walk quicker.

If you are dizzy or nauseous … stop … have some water, etc. And try again later or on another day.

• posted by Heather Patricia
    on

Hi. Just started this morning and I’m terrified! I have “hit rock bottom” and I feel if this doesn’t work for me then I have nowhere left to go! I’m highly motivated but frightened that I will make some mistake with the recipes and that I’ll slow my weight loss. Any tips?