Missing the crunch in my food…

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by ShellBrum
    on

Does anyone have any suggestions for homemade crunchy foods? I am new to this style of diet and miss toasted bread!

• posted by Frog
    on

not lots, bit carby, but raw white cabbage – lovely spread with hummus
    nuts
    cauliflower rice – raw or microwaved just enough to heat it but not soften it
    somewhere I used to work sued to serve parmesan lollipops as canapes (melted parmesan that has hardened – stick optional) I had some melted cheese that had done the same when I was cooking the other day – delicious!

I suppose you could try baking a gram flour batter until it went crispy

• posted by tigs
    on

I have got back into sprouting things and pea shoots are amazing! Just had a salad and they made it super crunchy and tasty

• posted by Snoop
    on

Sprouting things is a great idea, tigs. I hadn’t thought about that. If I recall rightly, it ups the protein content amazingly. Years since I’ve sprouted beans and lentils. Thanks for the reminder.

I was going to say the same as Frog, nuts. Almonds in particular are very crunchy.
    Raw veg is another: in salads or as sticks for dipping in tzaziki or hummus.

Or you could try these:
    https://thebloodsugardiet.com/recipes/chickpea-crackers/

If it’s chewiness you want, there are also these:
    https://thebloodsugardiet.com/recipes/chickpea-flour-pancakes/

• posted by Verano
    on

I feel a little like that sometimes so occasionally I have Nairn’s fine milled oat cakes with a strong cheese … just two!!! They are 36 cals each and 4.3 carbs so not too bad as long as you can stop at a couple!!

• posted by fiftyfifty
    on