Managing food at Hotels and when Travelling

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Powder Monkey
    on

Hi, I travel a huge amount with work (50%) and the summer holidays are fast approaching too. I’ve tried the 800 diet once, it worked really well but I fell off the wagon after 3 weeks. Part of the problem is that I stay at business hotels allot with no space to make my own food and the menu options at these places are not healthy. I’ve found avoiding colleagues after work reduces the peer pressure to have “just one beer” or analysis of my plate not containing any meat (I work in IT; it’s almost all white, over weight, beer + red meat types who go to the hotel gym every day to walk on the thread mill and wonder why they aren’t in good shape. Yes, it’s a stereo type, sorry, not out to offend but that’s my colleagues right now!). So… I was wondering, there must be some others in the same or similar situation? I’ve been thinking about going to the super market in the evenings and travelling with a small kitchen set so I can improvise a healthy lunch, but what about the hotel menus? How do I work out the calories of something I can’t prepare myself?

Also, those times you’re stranded at the airport and the only option are the row upon row of white bread sandwiches, pastries and crisps (I’m talking about smaller airports). Any tips for minimising the damage?

• posted by KrysiaD
    on