“KEEPING CARBS AT BAY OVER VALENTINE'S DAY” 4wk challenge ends 20th Feb

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Marsie
    on

We will do what it says…. work to keep those starchy carbs at bay for the four weeks that include Valentine’s Day and therefore progressing our drive to: lose weight;
    reduce meds;
    reverse illness;
    fit into smaller clothes;
    any or all of the above or more…..

Please join the wonderful group of challengers for our next four week challenge, beginning tomorrow after we sign off from our “happy new year/great good cheer” challenge. Everyone welcome.

• posted by Shanshu
    on

Hi everyone – I’m jumping in early so I can subscribe and make sure I get all the responses.

This is my first time doing a 4wk challenge. I like the idea of looking at it in a much more piecemeal way. I first did the BSD this time last year. I was exceptionally strict on it (although had my own meal plan) and lost 44lbs (just over 3 stone/nearly 20kg).

Then a friend died unexpectedly, immediately followed by Easter (with all the comfort eating chocolate that comes with it) and then a lot of breaks away and I found excuses to eat badly and in some cases, eat too much. In the end I put on about a stone (14lbs/6kg). So, in October I tried again but it didn’t really take. I did it for about a month but wasn’t very strict and I gave up quickly. And then a series of parties and then Xmas and on the 15th Jan I had put on 29lbs (2 stone/13kg). I was very angry with myself but resolved to get back on the BSD immediately.

It’s been a week. I haven’t been overly good (somewhere around 1000 on most days but carbs have been low – under 40 and sometimes much less). And I’ve lost 11.4 lbs (nearly 5kg). I know a lot of it is water but it’s a start.