Introducing me…..now on Week 2….and in a different head space!

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by shazandtribe
    on

Hi all! I just wanted to introduce myself although I have never posted on a forum before – eek! I was diagnosed Type 2 about 2 years ago, put on Metformin, which has been increased twice. My BSL’s have always been all over the place, and I was gestational diabetic on insulin. I have tried to lose weight since the diagnosis but there is lots of psychological stuff going on for me, so I never stuck to anything for a long time. Also, I am a full-time student, and single parent with 5 kids currently at home, and the idea of cooking different meals never appealed to me.
    BUT I was at the point where insulin was the next option, and I do NOT want to go there. So here I am. I am not particularly counting calories, but I know that my intake is where it should be and I am trying to be guided by how I feel. Generally, I have not been overly hungry so far, and getting my head around stomach gurgles being digestion and not hunger. I am very much tempted by the sight, smell, or thought of food, and this is something I am conquering step by step. Although one day I did have a banana. I have not had cravings particularly, headaches or any other withdrawal “symptoms”. I lost 2.5kg (5lb?) the first week and next weigh day is Monday. I am enjoying the food and have found that it is easy enough to adapt to suit the rest of the household. Generally, I have berries and yoghurt for breakfast, a soup or salad for lunch, nuts or vege sticks in the afternoon, and meat with veges for dinner. Eggs at the weekend.