How soon can ketosis start

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Joes Nonna
    on

Hello you clever peoples….I need to pick your brains. I have just finished a 24 hour fast and have no signs of Ketosis…the sticks you pee on also said I was normal. So my question is this….am I getting confused about when you achieve ketosis? Surely after 24 hours it should be there?

All advice appreciated. Thanks.

Nonna Mary
    xxx

• posted by Theodora
    on

As I understand it, it can take up to 3 days water fast to enter full ketosis, depending upon how much non-fat energy stores you have, as your body will burn these first – not that I am an expert, but I do practice water only fasts periodically and, by doing so I have maintained for 5 months. My longest water fast was 49.5 hours as an experiment (interested in autophagy as opposed to weight loss) but normally 36 hours ( 16 of which are spent in bed!!)

• posted by Joes Nonna
    on

Thank you Theodora. Can you tell me the difference between ketosis and autophagy…I have tried to read up on this but they both seem to be the same. Or it’s me being thick (probably the latter).

I think you are amazing to be able to fast for so long. I find 24 hours enough for me. Thanks again.

Nonna Mary

• posted by Theodora
    on

Hi Mary – thanks for the compliments, but I’m afraid that there is nothing particularly amazing about me😅 I just want to live a long and healthy life, and any way that enables me to do that has to be worth exploring.