Fatty liver but don't need to lose weight

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by JRAND
    on

Hi

A scan showed I have a fatty liver and a largish gallstone, and having read about the Blood Sugar diet I am sure that the cause is too much sugar and refined carbohydrate – I am more or less addicted to sugar.

My problem is that I am 5’6” tall but only weigh 116lbs. Also I don’t have diabetes. I want to embark on the Blood Sugar Diet but can’t afford to lose weight. If I just cut out sugar and refined carbs but still eat enough calories to maintain my weight will i get the benefit of the diet or is it the low calorie aspect that is of primary importance?

All advice appreciated

Thanks

• posted by Joes Nonna
    on

JRAND…welcome. I am not an expert or a medical person so I am not sure if you would lose weight. However, I do believe in the benefits of low carb eating. I have been living this way for 19 months and feel much better. I would always advocate giving up or reducing the amount of refined carbs eg. Rice, Potatoes, Bread, Cakes, Pasta. I no longer eat these regularly but of course have to have the odd roast tattie at Christmas or roast dinner. Having said that…I do not regularly lose weight despite being at least 6 stone overweight (according to apps, I weigh 15 stone and my height is 5ft 4in).