Fat loss in the first week?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Sophie99
    on

Hi everybody!

First time posting here, but I read these forums every day, scouring for advice and tips! I am new to the BSD and am at the end of my first week. I’ve found it generally ok, as someone with PCOS I am well used to watching my carbs and I had been doing 5:2 for 6 weeks before so the fasting hasn’t come as too much of a shock.

Anyway, I have a question…

I’ve decided to weigh myself daily. I find it makes me more accountable if I know I have to face the “consequences” the next morning!

After my first two 800 calorie days, I dropped 4 pounds. After the third day, I dropped a further 2 pounds, a total of 6 pounds in the first 3 days. Amazing – although I’ve been cautious to get too excited as I know it’s water weight really.

Every morning since, I have weighed exactly the same, not a pound more or less. Now, I’m certainly not complaining about 6 pounds lost in a week, but because it all came off in the first 3 days, I feel like I can’t have lost any fat yet? Is that the case?

I realise that plateaus are common, but did anyone else experience something similar in the first week and when did the scales get moving again? I may just be being very impatient here but because it all happened so quick, I feel like the fat hasn’t started shifting yet.

Thanks in advance!

• posted by Squidge
    on

I’ve found that I can lose a couple of pounds one day and then none for a while. I guess that’s why we’re often advised not to weigh ourselves ever day and that it all averages out in the end,

• posted by Luvtcook
    on