Confused

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by anneearlybird
    on

Hi, I am new to all this. Have just begun a low carb diet with my husband with the aim of losing some tummy fat. We are not diabetic nor pre diabetic. Just want to loose a bit of weight before it gets too near the mark. However I am becoming very confused about this carbohydrate/glycemic information. My son told me that sweet potatoes are OK but I find them quite sweet. From a browser search I find on an American web site that they are indeed in the low glycemic range but here they are said to be high in carbs ?
    I have also seen that dates are on the high side (as one would expect) but it is stated in the BSD recipie book that they use them a lot ! Also bananas are said to be a no no but on a glycemic chart from Sidney university they are in the low range. I have found several other incidences of conflicting information but they are too numerous to list here ! – can anyone help with my confusion ?

• posted by SunnyB
    on

Hi anneearlybird – I think the problem is confusing not only the carbs and glycemic rating, but also the fact that we are not just looking at the level of carbs in a given food, but the quantity to be consumed.

Firstly, I would say ignore the glycemic rating and look at the carb content. Then consider the quantity that you would eat as a portion. So if the carb content would be 69g carbs per 100g of the food item and it’s something you’d eat 100g as a portion, you’d probably want to avoid this, but if you’d only have say 10g as a portion then that would be fine – assuming you had the scope in your daily allowance.