BMI 19.3. Can I cut carbs?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Bonniebee
    on

Morning, I am a newbie looking for some advice. My hba1c reading was 36 so 1 away from prediabetic. I am slim so drs not concerned, but I am as my mum and nan both have late onset type 2, so I want to be proactive with my diet.
    My bmi is only 19.3 and the machine at gym says body fat =30%, in range for my age. Book said don’t do diet if bmi less than 21. I am assuming that meant don’t fast but will it be OK to cut carbs significantly and follow Mediterranean diet if low bmi? But not cut them out totally?
    . I hope that makes sense and I’d be really grateful for any advice. Thank you.

• posted by theblackspot
    on

Really sorry, I’m no nutritionist, but…
    If you do cut carbs,and eat a rich whole food Mediterranean diet with good fats, plenty of veg and some carbs from whole grains as a side dish not the main event and avoid processed food and the evils of sugar in all its forms. I think any good Dr would give you a pat on the back.

• posted by Janet1973
    on

Hi Bonniebee,
    Same as theblackspot, I’m not an expert but I’d say you would fine to cut out the carbs (pasta, potatoes, rice, bread, crisps, sweets, cakes, biscuits) but no need to calorie count so eat whenever you are hungry and stop when you are full, stocking up on protein, veg and fats. I guess your blood sugars might be high if you have had the traditional English diet of sugar-laden foods, even though you have kept your weight down. You might actually find your appetite changes which often happens when you cut the carbs.

• posted by SunnyB
    on

Hi Bonniebee