About to start, guidance sought.

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by greenjanet
    on

Hi all, I am starting tomorrow, so just getting organized today, can I check when you count your calories, does that include counting non starchy veg, so for ex if I plan a meal do I need to weigh and count salad for example, also if I snacked on veg sticks do I count them. I know this probably sounds pedantic, but I find confidence in being precise, I am a failed dieter of 41 years, I want this to work. Just want to say to the admins of this site. Very very good, I am a professional I’e lifetime attendee of all the slimming clubs, and this motivates, and educates me more than anything I have experienced before. Also I’m afraid In order to reinforce my committent I will be going public on here regularly. I am ready to expose everything, hehe well I suppose I mean my mind, after decades of denial, so can’t wait to get started 76 pounds to loose.

• posted by Igorasusual
    on

Hi greenjanet and welcome!

Yes, count EVERYTHING. If you get an app like MyFitnessPal you can keep a diary – and plan a day ahead – with all your meals and this also breaks it down into carbs, fat, protein and total calories.

You can schedule in and count some snacks – veg sticks, nuts, occasional fruit – and then you know where you are.

I found it good to keep the carbs under 50g per day – many people here do – and this seems to work well.

Have you measured? Have you got “target” clothes? This really helps if the weight loss slows because you can see yourself shrinking anyway.

Drink drink drink – you can keep a tally of that, too, in MyFitnessPal.

Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

• posted by Frog
    on

Up to you – I think there are a variety of approaches here.