Unexpected health benefits from weight loss

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by pipemakermike
    on

I started to make an effort to lose weight in August 2015 after advice from a friend (a German GP rtd). My Hba1C was 72 and my blood glucose was nearly 9. My weight was just on 100Kg and my BMI was around 34. I am a retired engineer and a believer that data is my friend<G> so I approached the diet in a structured way. I measure my weight in the morning before I dress and in the evening after I undress and note the data. I have a spreadsheet that I keep up to date and, using this, I get an average weight for the week and plot this as a graph. My target has been to keep the weight reduction to around 1kg per month and I have managed to keep close to this. I bought the BSD book last year and started using the advice in it and I am progerssing well – a bit faster since I got the book – towards my goal of a BMI of 25 by Christmas (currently it looks as though I will do better than this).
    My weight today is 78.8kg and my last Hba1C was 44(June 2017) My blood glucose, which dropped quickly when I started the effort in 2015, is averaging 5.3. I am still taking 1 850g Metformin tablet a day (down from 2) and 1 glycoside tablet and I am wondering if this can be reduced.
    One unexpected result is the Erythrocyte Sedimentation Rate (ESR) which is a measure of the state of the polymyalgia rheumatica I was diagnosed with in 2010. This has measured between 36 and 16 when the normal range is 2 – 10. To keep the symptoms at bay I take 10mg of steroid/day (prednisalone) this has many side effects including weight gain and suppression of the immune system.
    My last measure (June) was 9 and I am considering stopping or reducing the steroid. I plan to talk to my GP as soon as I can.