Slimline tonic ok?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by M.
    on

Help please. 4 days in – I know the book says no diet coke etc. but can I have a Slimline tonic with a slice of lemon? (to replace my craving for a glass of wine or a g & t!)

• posted by MaryR
    on

I am no expert, but I don’t think slimline tonic is OK, it’s got artificial sweeteners, like diet coke. I’ve been trying to find a tonic which fits the bill for ages, for the same reasons as you, but no luck. Even the full fat Schweppes one has artificial sweetener as well as sugar! Some of the better quality “light” tonics have less sugar, but still quite a lot. Does anyone know if there are any tonics sweetened with xylitol which is fine, or one of the other acceptable ones? I haven’t found one yet.

• posted by Eureka
    on

Hi MaryR

I drink FEVER-TREE Naturally light tonic water with ice in it. I sometimes get cramp quite badly in my legs so drink it for the quinine content too. ( not had cramp since started this diet though). You can pretend it’s got gin in it! I don’t like tea or coffee so stick to water & hot fruit teas

Fever- few nutrition facts per 100ml. Tin comes in 150ml size
    Energy : 63kJ. 15kcal. Total fat: 0g. Of which saturates: 0g. Carbohydrates: 3.8g of which sugars : 2.9g. Protein: 0g. Salt: 0g
    No artificial sweeteners, flavourings or preservatives. Ingredients: carbonated spring water , pure fructose (fruit sugar), acid: citric acid, natural flavours, natural quinine
    Waitrose, Tesco & I think Sainsburys stock it £3.99 – £4 for 8 cans. Sold in bottles too
    Hope this helps
    Eureka

• posted by MaryR
    on