Rising bs levels after four years of eating low carb, high(healthy) fat.

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by steph81170
    on

I would be grateful for any advice.
    Four years ago I was diagnosed as being pre-diabetic. I cut out all sugar and beige carbs – ie ate low carb, high (healthy)fat, lost a few kilos (was not overweight anyway) and my bs level dropped to the normal range. Just lately, my levels have been rising into the 6, 7 and sometimes 8 range and I don’t know why. I will ask my GP for an HBA1C next week. The last one about 6 months ago was 41.

• posted by Gattina
    on

Hi Steph
    I’m no expert so these are just my thoughts – getting a hba1c test is a good idea as that will tell you what you’re facing, whether you do now have diabetes or prediabetes. Michael Mosley talks about individual thresholds, when you cross that threshold you develop diabetes but it is different for everyone – it doesn’t mean you have to be grossly overweight to develop it, just hold more fat than your threshold allows. Some people put on fat around the organs whereas others put it on all over their bodies and its the fat around the organs which causes the damage. You may be holding more fat around your internal organs which has caused your blood glucose to increase and this diet would certainly help you tackle that.
    But we should also remember that sometimes our bodies just don’t work as well as they ought to – I don’t know how old you, and this may not apply to you – but as we get older we just have to work harder at something that was easier when we were younger and blood glucose may be the thing you have to work harder at.