Protein:Fat

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by JRChild
    on

I’m quite new to this diet (just finished my first week) and have lost 5 cm from my waist. Dropping the carbs was actually very easy; but it left me with a perplexing question. In what ratio of protein to fat should their be in grams? Should it be 50:50 or 75:25?

• posted by Mixnmatch
    on

Looking at my setup on Cronometer I use 1:2 calories which isn’t far from 1:1 grams, on a 1350 day it is 85g protein and 75g fat for me. I know I tend to run a bit higher in protein than many though, due to muscle and exercise requirements. Others may be closer to 1:3 in calories, between protein and fat.

• posted by alliecat
    on

Hi, JRChild. I’ve been in maintenance for 9 months, but my
    approach to macros during 10 months of the Fast800 was
    the following: I used this formula to establish protein requirements –
    1 gm of protein per kg of IDEAL body weight. I set carbs at 20 gm,
    and the remainder was allocated to healthy fats. If you do a lot
    of strength training at the gym, protein can be as high as 1.5 gm.
    My weight loss was approx. .5lbs per day, and very consistent
    at this level. I never saw the need to calculate fat grams, but
    was more concerned with adequate protein and carbs <20gms.
    Hope this helps!

Allie

• posted by JRChild
    on

Hey there Mixnmatch and alliecat, thank you for your very quick replies… I’m truly amazed and pleased!!! I too am going to gym (or I should say re-resuming gym!) after some pretty serious health problems. At this point I do aquarobics for an hour 3 times a week; I used to go to gym for an hour of cardio and an hour of heavy weights per day, and have plan to resume that ASAP.