No Scales

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by KitArgyll27
    on

Is anyone else doing this without weighing themselves? I don’t own any scales and honestly can’t afford to buy new ones and wouldn’ t have anywhere to put them if I could. I know that I need to lose weight but that’s not really the prime motivation for doing this in my case. It’s much more about regaining good health. I’m very new to the process (Day 4, first attempt at BSD) and I’ve been reading around some of the topics so I’m just wondering if anyone else is doing it ‘blind’ like this. Do you think it will matter? I’m hoping that by not worrying about whether or not I’ve lost weight, I’ll be able to focus on the health benefits and stick to it because my motivation is more long term than just what the scales say. Or am I deluding myself?

• posted by ClarinetCathy
    on

KitArgyll27 – I dont think you’re deluding yourself at all. You won’t need scales to notice that the weight is coming off. Before long your clothes will become loose and you will definitely notice when you look in the mirror. From personal experience I know that the scales can be a hindrance. I have often felt that the scales rule my mood so I think it would be quite liberating to embark on BSD without scales. Often I noticed that my clothes felt looser but the scales did not show a loss hence I have decided that the scales are really not a true reflection of weight loss and now I weigh once a week just to keep tabs on how I am doing. I am in maintenance now after losing 42lb last year doing BSD. You will see that non scale victories NSV are often shared on here. The BSD is a great way to lose fat and you will certainly notice in a few weeks the fat going off your body. I noticed my shoulders became quite bony and so did my knees!