Newbie with a couple questions…

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by katb
    on

Hi! I am brand new to the program. Diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes about a week ago. Watched Dr. Mosley’s video online and have been trying to follow the basics for a few days. Recieved the book yesterday and ready to start full on Fast 800 today. Have read the book but i still have two questions to which I cannot seem to figure out the answer:

1. What is the percentage of fat, protein and carbs you should have daily? I have been trying to stay under 45 grams of carbs daily since diagnosed, however based on some of the posts I read is that way too many?? I am juicing a lot of veggies and a few suggested fruits and pretty much all of my carbs are coming from that. I am also eating protein with every meal. Would appreciate a specific guide as I will not be able to only eat the recipes suggested in the daily menu.

2. Are the 800 calories “net”. Am I supposed to adjust my caloric intake for exercise, ie: if I burn 200 calories exercising do I need to cosume 1000 calories that day?

Thank you in advance.

• posted by sunshine-girl
    on

Welcome Katb, you are in the right place to reverse your diabetes and you are lucky enough to have found this plan so early after your diagnosis, though not lucky to be diagnosed. I assume as you are newly diagnosed you have not been put on medication but have been given the chance to control with diet.

Others will come and tell you the percentages you are looking for. I just stick with 800 calories and keep to under 50g carbs but absolutely no white starchy carbs – I’m sure you know the list.