newbie here

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by woofmum
    on

was recommended this BSD by my GP today, have looked online and ordered books from Amazon, which should be here on monday….is there anything i can do until then to start myself off or is it best to wait until i have read the books, its a bit of a do or die situation so i dare not screw up…also which is the best way to start…..fasting or med style? thanks in advance……

• posted by Cherrianne
    on

Hi woofmum,
    Welcome and great that you’re ready to take the first steps to better health.
    Have you looked at the quiz on the home page of this site? That might help you decide which diet is right for you.
    It would depend on how much weight you need to lose and whether you are diabetic. If you have a lot to lose and have blood sugars that are very high I would suggest the fast 800. It also depends on how much self control you have. If you need more structure, then again I’d recommend the fast 800. There have been members who’ve commented that they fasted ok on the two days and then couldn’t control their eating on the other 5, with the 5:2 diet.
    You could try downloading the 8 week blood sugar diet series of articles from the Daily Mail UK website. I read those and started the diet before my book arrived.
    All the best…

• posted by hashimoto
    on

WOW – recommended by your GP – that is VERY good news, it means others in your practice will get the same great help.