We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Sunshine35
    on

Hi everyone, newbie here 😁
    I’ve wanted to start this diet for the last few years but I guess it’s time now.
    I feel so defeated, I’m only 5.2 and 98kg.
    I’m hoping to stick to this diet until I get to an overweight bmi so about 70 kg.
    If anyone started out around my weight, how much did you lose in the first 8 weeks?
    Hoping for some inspiration 🙏

• posted by florob85
    on

Hi Sunshine, although I’m taller than you I started on 124kg, and I’ve done this diet twice – the first time 3 years ago I lost nearly 2st (27lbs) on the first 8 weeks – that’s about what 11kg ish? This time round in 8 weeks I lost 22lbs (8ish kg?) and now am 31lb down in I think 14 weeks, and I’ve had a couple of days completely off plan in that time.

Few tips to getting started – ask as many questions as you want, about anything! There’s tonnes of really experienced people on here and also we are all working out ways of how to do this that fits with our lifestyle and tastes etc. so there’s a wealth of experience. There’s a weekly thread that’s always supportive – look for the one week at a time starting…….threads – this weeks has 23rd March in the title and a new one is started every Monday evening.

The first few days you might feel a bit rough as you’ll lose a lot of fluids and you might get carb withdrawal – headaches, feeling a bit weak and wobbly etc. This passes I promise so stick with it, drink lots and lots of water, add some extra salt to your food for a few days, make sure to include plenty of healthy fats to keep you full. Don’t panic if you fall off the wagon, we’ve literally all done it and all of us are still standing! Just move on to the next meal!