New to BSD – question about carbs?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by oceandiver
    on

Hello. I’m new to BSD. I started the diet in a slap-dash kind off way 4 days ago because the moment grabbed me. Am now realising I need to get more organised. So far I have been using the recipes from the BS book. Have been looking at the forums a bit and I’m a bit confused. Some people are talking about how many gms of carbs they are eating a day. I can’t find any mention of specific amounts of carbs to be eaten in a day in the book and the recipes on this site and in the book don’t specify how many carbs are in them. So where are you getting this info from? I like the idea of measuring carbs because it seems a very specific way to reach fat-burning. I am planning to get ketostix. Finding the forums very informative so far so thank you for that . Have just left a well known slimming group where low-fat is the plan – it feels so right to be eating full fat food again! Though I haven’t felt that brilliant over the last 4 days my carb obsession has gone and I’m sleeping really well which I haven’t in YEARS! Feeling very motivated and believing I can lose at least 2 stones with info and support for this site. Sorry if I’m rambling – all coming out in a tumble!LOL!

• posted by Igorasusual
    on

Hello and welcome!

One thing which experience has taught me from the BSD (I’m 4 weeks in), is that keeping an eye on the total (good) carbohydrates can be helpful in losing weight.

There are a few apps you can look at, but one I use is My Fitness Pal where you can enter your foods and see how they are made up in terms of carbohydrates, fat, protein, sugar etc.