Indian Restaurant – Best Choices please!

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Denise47 Jones
    on

I am off out on Saturday night for my baby Brother’s 40th Birthday on Saturday and we are going for an Indian meal in our local restaurant. Does anyone have any suggestions for what to eat? I love all Indian food but want to make sensible choices as I don’t want a bad belly. I will be on the wine, but am such a light drinker that won’t be much of a problem.

I am also making him a Harry Potter cake – he is only 40 after all! I will have to make sure he takes all the left-overs home with him!!

Any tips gratefully received!!

• posted by Lrred
    on

Hi, I’m new to this but I think I would choose king prawns in a tomato based sauce and lots of vegetable sides, and maybe ask for one spoonful of someone else’s basmati rice – and avoid naans because once I start on them I’d have to eat it all! I’d also tell the person who will be sitting opposite me what I’m doing so they could a. keep their carbs out of my reach and b. frown repeatedly at me if I was getting tempted to give in and eat them!
    Good luck!

• posted by GillyD
    on

Hello! I love curry so have to be careful I don’t scoff too much but dishes I choose are Chicken Tikka / Chicken Shashlik ( no sauce) with veg sides or a prawn curry… Have a lovely meal out!

on

Thanks.

Hadn’t thought about prawns and veggie side dishes! So used to just having chicken tikka masala, naan bread and mushroom rice that I’ve realised I haven’t really looked at the rest of the menu in years!!!

• posted by Jackie WilsonSaid
    on

Shahi murgh tandoori [chargrilled chicken on sizzling onions and peppers] with veg sides; no rice or naan or beer!

on