I'm new to the BSD day #1

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Emptynestmama43
    on

Looking for helpful tips and recipes.
    I was wandering if using alternative “flours” will be permitted I’m not sure about the “carbs” in
    Almond flour
    Flaxseed flour &
    Coconut flour

• posted by Switzerland
    on

Welcome to the BSD Emptynestmama43. I know that coconut flour is used as I purchased it to make the zucchini and pumpkin seed muffins for the BSD (the recipe is in the book). The coconut flour that I purchased per serving (14g – 2 tbsp) has Carbohydrate 8 g of which sugars 1 g. I can’t help you with Almond/Flaxseed flour but be assured that someone who has the knowledge will read your post and reply.

on

Thank you for the information Switzerland. So if the coconut flour has 8g carb and 1g sugar how is it allowed on this Diet or Lifestyle change? I thought No Carbs were allowed in this Menu.
    I may not understand completely because I have only discovered this way of eating today and I have only read for a few hours about it. I have some of the other flours already because I have already been trying to change my diet permanently and chose them because of learning to like the “out of the norm” kinds of foods when my diet Was extremely limited from age 6-14 for me because of disease, so my mother taught me to like different types of food and appreciate different ways of preparing them. So I will look on the packaging and post the Carb and Sugars exchange for the Alternative flours that I have.
    It’s funny I was already trying to change things and was somewhat headed in the right direction when I came across The BSD today.
    Thanks again Switzerland oh and for the heads up on the Recipe Book.

• posted by Switzerland
    on