I wanna but…

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Rainey
    on

I’m a veteran of 5:2. I did it once with great success until something came along and blew it for me. It’s taken 3 years and many, many, many attempts but I’ve finally got a month under my belt again and I’m feeling confident.

Now I’d like to take advantage of the strong start of the BSD diet but I’ve got a lot of apprehensions. For one thing I’m totally addicted to carbs. Can’t manage my cravings if I have *any* at all. Secondly, I’m a compulsive eater with an enormous appetite. I can’t stop eating even “good” foods and I’d better have a full belly or I’m going to go for the “bad” foods. Thirdly, the way I got competent at 5:2 was I didn’t have to weigh or measure or stop eating until I felt full and satisfied. Finally, I’ll eat all sorts of foods and be experimental but I’m not sure that’s gonna continue to be true if I have to eat things like kale on a continuing basis for 8 weeks.

I’ve looked through the recipes and I can’t say there was anything there I’d be excited about cooking or eating and there are many things that would trip my cravings.

Is there any hope for me? How should I approach this?

• posted by freester
    on

I read your post and thought a lot of similarities with me before I embarked on this journey. I had no ‘off button’, no ‘brakes’ could just eat and eat and eat and a lot of it was bread, pasta, potatoes and rice.

However before I started I read the BSD book recipes and the recipe book and ticked every meal I fancied. Which was a lot. Cheese, Eggs, Meat, Fresh and Cooked Veg, Curries, Dahls. A little Dark Chocolate. Yoghurt and Fruit. My first meal was the fry up brunch from the recipe book. Really nothing you fancy?