Hi, newbie here!

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by JCH187
    on

Hi

I’m Julia, I’m just waiting for my book to arrive and then I am starting the process of getting myself more healthy. My dad is Type 2, my aunt has also recently been diagnosed and I want to act before it gets even more out of hand. I’m an emotional comfort eater, the last year has been horrendous and the pounds have piled on, I have a lot to lose but trying not to let that phase me. I’m iron deficient (in the process of trying to get this sorted) and my constant tiredness leaves me craving carbs for the quick energy fix but then the evitable crash comes, I’ve got to break that cycle and get my eating habits back in check (I’m a grazer, which worries me on how I’m going to plan my 800 calories!). I’m not very imaginative in the kitchen so have been scouring the website for recipes that aren’t too complicated!

I’m sure I’ll be back with questions and looking for reassurance. Many of your stories have inspired me and hopefully in time I will be able to inspire others.

Julia

• posted by Switzerland
    on

Hi Julia and welcome to the forums.

Read the book all of the way through so that you really understand the 3 principles of the BSD, then launch into it.

When you follow the BSD you’ll find that your grazing behavior will go away because you’ll not be hungry between meals. N.B. this doesn’t happen immediately but if you can persevere through the first week you’ll feel so empowered. It really is a great feeling not being hungry all of the time.

Look at the BSD as a time to get ‘kitchen savvy’ – there are BSDers around the globe with helpful words of wisdom. Just reach out, there’s always someone reading the forums.

Enjoy your BSD journey Julia.

• posted by Patsy
    on