Feeling lost

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Ladybird127
    on

Hi, I’m new to this eating plan. I have read the Blood Sugar diet book and bought the recipe book, but am feeling daunted by it all.
    I planned my week’s menus but then realised that I would be over the 800 calorie daily allowance. I really want to make a success of this. I am vegetarian,
    Can anyone give me any guidance on getting started please.

• posted by SunnyB
    on

Ladybird, welcome. As this way of eating turns all we have been told for years on it’s head, there is a learning curve and there will be a few errors during that process.

I’m not vegetarian, but my advice is to keep things simple. Do you eat eggs, cheese, or maybe fish? An easy simple source of low carb protein, teamed with above ground veg or salad for lunch / dinner is ideal. Breakfast, full fat yogurt with berries, nuts, seeds …. or if you eat eggs, omelette or similar. Hopefully someone who is vegetarian will offer more advice soon.

Make good use of the forum too, as this is a great resource. Consider joining in on the weekly thread. You’d be made welcome at anytime, just drop in to share and gain information, support and encouragement. Best wishes ….

• posted by Ladybird127
    on

Thank you Sunny B for replying. I very much appreciate your reply. I do eat eggs and cheese but not fish, however, I am used to adapting recipes and using lentils, beans etc for protein.
    This eating plan does turn everything upside down, as I am used to eating low fat (I have used the Slimming World plan in the past) and it feels very strange buying the full fat, but I really enjoy the new flavours. I guess it’s just a question of feeling my way through and adjusting my plans meal by meal. I am also adjusting my portion size too.