Calorie count for book recipies way off?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Girl_on_a_mission
    on

Hi all!

I’m very new to the diet, only 6 days in but struggling with the recipies in the book. The calorie and carb count seems way off compared to when I log it in my fitness pal- anyone else find this?

I’ve been following my own recipes but really struggling to get under 50 carbs a day.

Any help really appreciated- it’s my first time on a diet and ever using a forum

• posted by Mixnmatch
    on

Welcome to the forum, I don’t use either MFP or the recipes in the book but yes this has been mentioned. Some things to look out for though. You should be using net carbs, so take the fibre off the total if the data is from an American source. I believe the recipe book itself often goes over in carb terms as the 50 g limit is not mentioned there, and some days in the book meal plan may well be over this figure. I made up my own recipes all the time while on the 800, and tried to keep under 50g but didn’t worry too much if I went over. Some people need to cut carbs more severely to lose the weight though so I suggest you start at a level comfortable for you to reach, and see what happens over the first couple of weeks. If you are burning fat it should become obvious by the fact that your energy levels recover as you may experience some initial fatigue or lethargy when drastically lowering carbs. Keep us posted with how you are getting on and we can try to answer any questions you have.

on