600cal Meal replacement

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Prediabetes27
    on

Hello,

I’m brand new to this, having started and finished the Fast 800 book today! I am hoping to spend two weeks using 600 calories meal replacement and 200 calories from steamed vegetable. I’m aware in the Newscastle study they used Optifast meal replacement sachets but does anyone know if these are the best ones to get or where to buy them? Any advice appreciated.

Many thanks

• posted by Mphil
    on

Hi i am using the cambridge meal replacement which is roughly costing 50 gbp per week which include 1:1 accountability session and includes 3 x200 calorie bars/ meals/ smoothies …..its takes a bit of getting used to….

• posted by JGwen
    on

You would be better off using a free app like fat secret and learning to change your eating habits. Its sustainable long term against using meal replacement systems.

on

Thank you, that sounds most sensible

• posted by Jennie10
    on

Hi Prediabetes27
    I’ve just answered your ‘how many carbs’ question so you may no longer be thinking about using the shakes but for info anyway…..
    In the Newcastle study, Roy Taylor used Optifast but he also mentioned that Optifast is hard to find (i.e. if you are in the UK). He mentioned that people could get Extante meal replacement shakes online. He also advised that any good supermarket shakes could be used (maybe one with similar nutrition breakdown to Optifast?).
    In the next trial, the DiRECT study, I think he used the Cambridge meal replacement ‘shakes’ – I guess part of the system Mphil is using (mind, I read somewhere he got Roy Taylor got them free!).