which yogurt to buy??

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by bazil
    on

I was at the supermarket in my lunch break and thought I would get some yogurt and berries for breakfast over the weekend….
    only there were so many! and I just didnt have the time to spend (or my glasses) to read all the labels.

Can anyone give me an exact brand and type of yogurt to purchase? I found some yogurt but it said “greek style” so I didnt know if I was being tricked or not .

thanking you all in advance.

• posted by Leeanne
    on

I’m a newbie to this diet, am starting it on Mon. From what I’ve read, I’m aiming for full fat plain yoghurt or full fat Greek. Berries etc would be nice with those. (Feel free to correct me if this is wrong information!!).

• posted by lucinda61
    on

I was wondering the same…Im in Australia….or is there a measure of sugar content that you should look for??

• posted by Bill1954
    on

Full fat Greek or natural yoghurt, just go for the one with the lowest sugar content.
    I’m pretty sure that mine has none

• posted by lucinda61
    on

Thanks Bill, will do…

• posted by FoFi
    on

I think that they can only call it Greek Yoghurt if it is made in Greece (or uses Greek milk or something like that).

None of those listed below have anything in them other than yoghurt:-
    Per 100g
    Tesco Greek Style Yoghurt Fat 9.5 Sugar 5.4
    Tesco Finest Greek Yoghurt Fat 9.9 Sugars 3.8 << Actually made in Greece with Greek milk (but almost twice the price)
    Yeo Valley Greek Style Fat 9.5 Sugars 6.4
    Non Greek Style
    Yeo Valley Natural Yoghurt Fat 4.2 Sugars 6.5

(Numbers from Tesco Website – other shops available blah blah!)