Simplest recipes

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by dcairns
    on

Preparing to start the diet, but daunted by the recipes in the book and online. I never cook breakfast (catch me trying to toast almonds in a frying pan while half asleep!), I’m an incompetent chef at best, most of the recipes contain ingredients I never buy… Can anyone direct me to the very easiest recipes on here (assume I’m an idiot and a menace in the kitchen) or suggest things for each meal that require minimum preparation. I’m prepared to sacrifice variety and deliciouness for EASE. I mean, ideally the thing should be edible as it is. I can just about peel a fruit. I can make an omelette but if we’re eliminating the unhealthy parts I don’t want to replace them with a half dozen tiny flavourings.

You get the idea, I’m sure. Many thanks if anyone can help.

• posted by SunnyB
    on

Welcome dcairns …. there’s nothing wrong with keeping things simple, so maybe eggs for breakfast (your omelette for instance), a salad and protein source for lunch (pre-cooked chicken, grated cheese, canned tuna), and above ground veggies and a protein source for dinner (a couple of good quality sausages, a chop or small steak for instance).

Personally, I like a sprinkle or two of spices or herbs to ring the changes and you can buy lots of different premixed options, so just one extra ingredient… Italian or provincial herb mix, five spice or ras el hanout spice mix maybe.

If you’re looking for advice and support, you can do worse than joining in on the weekly thread … the current one has September in the title and there will be a new one kicking off tomorrow evening. Warm welcome guaranteed.

Best wishes to you

• posted by sunshine-girl
    on