Prediabetic after 4 yrs on 5:2

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by cazcazt
    on

I have been doing the 5:2 diet for over 4 years. I started not because I needed to lose weight but because I liked the idea of boosting my immune system and lowering insulin resistance as well as the benefits claimed by fasting-induced autophagy. I am a 68 year old woman, BMI 19/20, no excess belly fat, physically active and a healthy eater. The last thing I expected was that a blood test done to check out occasional palpitations would present me with this. I only know the results of the test, done last week because I saw them in my record on the GP’s website, and will be going in to discuss them with her in a week’s time after a holiday. I’d now like to tackle the problem by trying the blood sugar diet but really don’t want to lose much weight. I’d be grateful for any views about whether this diet will help to push me back into the normal blood sugar range and, if so, how long I might expect it to take (is 8 weeks realistic?). I also feel I should monitor my blood sugar myself and would welcome suggestions about that. Thank you for reading.

• posted by MaggieBath
    on

I don’t know anything about the 5:2. Does it allow refined carbs? As far as food allowed goes how does it differ from the BSD.

• posted by KrysiaD
    on