Pasta and Rolled Oats confusion

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Rowantree
    on

Hello to all,

I’m new to this and not yet embarked on a programme – so far I’m thinking about my options and how I can make changes. I have a few questions about foods:

1. I get that the Mediterranean diet is meant to be healthy. HOWEVER…..Italians eat loads of pasta and pizza as well as cakes for breakfast! And those we are meant to avoid. I’m baffled and confused, especially about the pasta. Can anyone enlighten me?

2. I normally eat a breakfast of my own muesli: it’s rolled oats, with mixed seeds and nuts. No sugar, no dried fruit, just semi skimmed milk. Is that to be avoided too? Are ordinary rolled oats OK to have or need they be the jumbo type?

Any advice and thoughts welcome, please ๐Ÿ˜€

• posted by orchid
    on

Hi, Welcome on board!
    I was puzzled when I first heard people talking about the Mediterranean diet a few years ago for a similar reason! What it is looking at is the amount of fresh foods – especially veg and fruit that all the countries around the Mediterranean. They eat very few processed foods. There is also a lot of olive oil, fish, beans and nuts. Meat, eggs and full fat products are eaten in small quantities. So – no it is not a diet full of pasta and pizza!