New to BSD – Advice please

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Earth-mum
    on

I’m really new to the BSD – started it on Saturday when my book arrived! I’ve not followed a recipe yet as I’m still reading through the book – almost there! However, I am watching the food I’m consuming by following Dr Moseley’s guidelines for a Mediterranean style diet. I’m eating a good amount of veg, some fish, quorn, salads, nuts, etc – everything he says to eat, and I’m sticking to around 800/850 cals a day, weighing everything – I haven’t eaten bread, pasta, rice or anything processed. What I haven’t done, however, is count my carbs. I’ve been reading some posts and I’m thinking maybe I need to count the carbs as well as the calories….
    I have also had some snacks during the day, ie a salad or a small handful (25g) of mixed nuts or a pear or apple.
    I’m also eating a breakfast, lunch and a dinner.
    Should I snack and should I be eating 3 meals a day? Even if my calorie total is just under or over 800 per day, is carb counting that important?
    I’m not feeling grumpy (yet!), nor particularly hungry (good!) but I haven’t lost any inches and just lost 1lb in (water) weight. So, good people, have I been doing anything wrong?!

• posted by sunshine-girl
    on