New start to the BSD

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by ScottM
    on

Hi all, I’m just starting out on my BSD journey.
    I’m 38 years old and was diagnosed with Diabetes on 13th January this year – my HbA1C was 110!! My head is still spinning a bit with it all and I have to say my anxiety is pretty high!
    Just prior to getting my test, I’d restarted Slimming World on 4th January and was doing the Extra Easy SP (which is really a low carb diet), and had been doing 16:8 fasts since 7th January.
    My GP advised me to switch to a 900 calorie diet which I started on Wednesday and I started the BSD properly on Saturday after a trip to the supermarket. The family have been very supportive and have bought me the BSD recipe book and the Fast 800 recipe book! I’ve gotten myself an exercise bike and picked up a blood sugar monitor too.
    So far since 4th Jan I’ve lost 9lbs (losing 1lb a day since Wednesday) and since I started testing my Blood Sugar 4 days ago, I’ve been averaging 6.6mmol/L. Sadly today was the first day I’ve stood on the scales without weight loss, which I’m hoping isn’t a plateu already!

Still not quite over the hunger and my legs are feeling pretty weak I think from the exercise – I’ve been averaging 2500 steps a day since lockdown, went for a 7500 step walk yesterday and Saturday – but I’m hoping it all keeps going in the right direction and my GP will take me off metformin at my review in 8 weeks if I can just kick the weight!

Any advise and wisdom from those of you more experienced with the diet is welcome 🙂

• posted by sunshine-girl
    on