Do I need to see a shrink?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by chris7922
    on

I have been in training for almost a year to do 2 half marathons in October & November

I have been 276lbs since I started training, the best I got down to was 272lbs

I go to the gym regularly and run/jog/walk with the dog on most days. I feel fit and people don’t believe I am the weight I am.

I find myself getting better at the training but then eating more and more carbs and sweets when I think I am making progress. I am hooked on chocolate and will hide it in the car so I don’t take it in the house. I am never losing any weight. I have tried the 5:2 before but never stick to it and am ready to explode in anger at what I do.

So! am I a nut case who has mental health issues and should I see a professional or are there other things I should consider doing to change this mental cycle I am in

• posted by Californiagirl
    on

Hi Chris,
    Your post strikes a chord with me. You don’t need a shrink.
    I am a “sporty” person who has spent a lifetime in every exercise out there from hiking to skiing to swimming to running — dog walking, horse riding (and horse stall cleaning), weight lifting, gardening (hours and hours)….
    I was (and am) FIT, but I WAS ALSO still FAT and here is what I finally decided:
    If EXERCISE was going make the difference in my weight it would have already done so — as you have found, you are even training for a couple of marathons and you only dropped four pounds.