Any advice for travellers?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Amp511
    on

Hi everyone,

I bought Michael Mosley’s 8 Week BSD on a whim when I strayed into the books section (my weakness!) at Selfridges two weeks ago.

Today is Day 2 and I’m feeling good about it, though I do need some advice from all you seasoned BSDers out there…

I’m a consultant who spends Monday-Thursday working on the client’s site several hundred miles away and Friday-Sunday in London (home). Those client site days are spent living out of a hotel with no access to a kitchen, fridge or microwave and the client offices don’t have these either.

Do you have any recipes or suggestions for easy-to-make travel-friendly meals that don’t require a kitchen/fridge/microwave? I can buy things from the local supermarket on a Monday night but can’t afford the time to be going there everyday and I’m lacking inspiration for what foods I can throw together.

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks everyone ๐Ÿ™‚

• posted by hashimoto
    on

Hi Amp511, the first thing I would do in your situation is invest in an insulated food box (can’t think of the proper name ) I would freeze a couple of bottles of water (as potable ice packs) and take some made up salads, some top quality ham, some boiled eggs, prepared avocados(skin off, stone out, sprinkled with vinegar or lemon), some full fat yoghurt and berries. You could also take some little packets of nuts. Get a wide necked flask and take some home made soup for your first day.

Hope that helps ๐Ÿ™‚

• posted by captainlynne
    on

Hi. I’ve seen about someone in a similar situation who used a soup maker in his hotel room. It’s quicker and less conspicuous than a slow cooker.

• posted by Patsy
    on

A coolbox, Hashimoto?