Advice for starting requested

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Bobobaron
    on

I am a 38yro Police Officer with ulcerative colitis and a horrendous shift pattern looking to start the BSD.

I note after some lengthy trawling of the forums there is no week by week shopping list which is a real shame as I have written up week 1 and it is pretty horrendous for me to try and split it up for just me as I regularly have to miss family meals as I would like to make a meal for 1 rather than 2 or 4 etc.

However, I was thinking that although there is the 8-week program/diary – is the main idea to eat anything from the book, but as long as it is only <800calories and ‘reasonably’ varied?

I only say that as it may be easier for me to make the same dinner and eat it 3-4 nights in a row, this will ensure I am not buying lots of food items that aren’t being used and going to waste, keeping cost down and doing my best to stick to the core value of the BSD?

Lunch options will most likely be skipped as I rarely;y get the opportunity anyway so I will be looking to maximize the best options for breakfast and dinner.

Any advice would be appreciated for this tired and weary officer.

• posted by JGwen
    on

Hi Bobobaron
    Welcome to the forum. As a vegetarian it wasn’t possible for me to follow the 8 week program in the book, and I know that you will find others on the forum who didn’t follow the recipes.