800 v 600 help

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Penny62
    on

We are now on week 10 and going great. Hubby really into it. Great weight loss and blood sugar drop. But hubby now doing 600 per day. I’m making sure his diet is good, but worried it’s too low. I seem to be losing more weight & eating more calories. Anyone advise me please.

• posted by Mixnmatch
    on

I’m no expert but it could be the ‘famine response’ where the body shuts down some functions to keep what nutrition there is for the most important functions. The whole metabolism slows down and I can’t imagine it being a productive way of losing weight if this is the case. I’m not sure what effect it would have on blood sugar levels. I think 600 per day as part of a 5:2 diet is okay, but not continuously.

I tend to prefer going over rather than under the 800, depending on what nutrition I need, to try to avoid this response.

• posted by Penny62
    on

Thanks for the reply. I’m with you but hubby still wants to go on using 600. It’s tricky to make meals varied etc etc and so low calorie.

• posted by Frog
    on

why not let him take responsibility for meal preparation if he is being so exacting?

• posted by sunshine-girl
    on

Hi Penny, yes, let him do his own meals. Also, I would suggest that rather than reduce his calories he reduces his carbs. If he is already on 50 grams try to get it down to 30. 600 calories is not going to make him loose quicker.

Mixmatch, if you look at the book again, you will see that the ‘famine response’ is a myth talked about by MM. It does happen but only when you are truly starving. See page 99.

• posted by Penny62
    on

Thanks for that. I will look at the book again and study the carb intake.

• posted by Mixnmatch
    on