Weight loss plateau theory?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by FoFi
    on

I noticed that my weight loss was good in the first week and not too bad in the second but wasn’t as good in the third and fourth week, but (the loss) has increased again in the fifth week. I would have put this down to random things, but others are reporting a similar effect. It is possible that the majority have a consistent weight loss and so don’t post on the forum – I don’t know.

I am not a doctor and stopped biology at 14 with no further (biological or sport science) education since but I do have a theory and would be interested to hear the views of others.

Assumption A :- The body sores glycogen in the muscles and the glycogen is bound to water. When we fast this glycogen is quickly used and the corresponding loss of water results in very quick weight loss for the first day or two. [I think I am confident about this.]

Assumption B:- The body gets better at processing fat as we continue with the lower carbohydrate higher fat diet. [This is likely to vary with each individual, but in any case I am less confident about this.]

So perhaps after the start of fasting the initial water loss helps with the diet in the first week. Then after two or three weeks the body gets better at processing the fat and in time restores some of the glycogen to the muscles and the water. So the body is losing fat but the initial lost water is now restored.

When I tried 5:2 previously I noticed massive weight swings on the morning after a fast and the day each side. Some of the weight lost is the water loss and some is the weight of food in the intestine. If this theory has any merit those swings after a few weeks should be less severe. I will watch out in a few weeks when I switch to 5:2 on this diet.