Starting Feb 27th

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Cathy77
    on

All help and advice needed here. I’ve never done any kind of low carb diet before but have lived on weight watchers and slimming world regimes all my life. Despite the ‘dieting’ I have a scary amount of weight to lose, we’re talking double figures. I’m fortunate that diabetes isn’t a factor, I just need to do something different as I don’t want to have to give in to the doc and have bariatric surgery.

• posted by kilwinny
    on

Hi Cathy,
    I am starting again today. I fell off the wagon even though I had good results with my blood sugars.
    It does work……..if you stick to it. 😉
    Kilwinny.
    Good luck to both of us!

• posted by kilwinny
    on

I forgot to mention that I too have a lot of weight to lose. Maybe we can keep each other motivated.
    Kilwinny

• posted by SunnyB
    on

Hi Cathy77 – welcome aboard! There are allsorts of folks doing the BSD for a variety of reasons and they are all welcome here. First thing to say is that, it is important to ditch the low fat training that WW and Slimming World give. On BSD full fat is what you need, but carbs are to be avoided. This means banishing bread, cakes, biscuits, potatoes, rice and pasta of any type. It takes awhile to get your head around it, but you will soon find it becomes second nature.

You might find that you experience some level of carb withdrawal in the early days. This could be headaches, feeling weak and lethargic, or flu’ like symptoms. These will pass and you will quite quickly be noticing benefits, both in weight loss and non-weight benefits too.

Final advise is to make good use of the forum. There are lots of lovely folks on here, who will offer advise, support and encouragement, so just ask and someone will respond.