Simpler foods for a simple man: a plea…

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Anon Pilot
    on

Hi, I’m new to this, but among the various hopeful voices declaring possible salvation from Type 2 Diabetes I have ended up here. I’ve read the book and am raring to go… BUT… the recipes at the back…?… oh my goodness! I’m sorry but they are FAR too complicated and fussy for me, and it makes no sense to me at all that one would bake or smash up nuts and fruit, thus making them digest faster, which is worse isn’t it, from the glycemic point of view???

So far, I’ve made myself some simple muesli, adding flaked almonds, sunflower seeds and cinnamon to a plain organic muesli base as per Rick Gallop. Also, I had sardines on a slice of heavy sourdough rye bread, delicious.

I’m 56, was 20’4 at my worst but am now 19’9, losing 3lbs in 3 days, and have been indulging myself in a sedentary lifestyle for, it now seems, far too long. I’ve just been told this last Monday the 15th January that I have type 2 Diabetes. I’ve started to use, almost for the first time, my cross-trainer and have done twice daily 16 minute sessions every day this week. As a result of the exercise, the weight loss, and the better food choices, I am feeling really a lot better.

Dr Michael Mosley needs to be knighted in my opinion. I suspect that I will never be able to thank him enough.

• posted by mountainman
    on

Hi,