Relaxing the rules at the weekend

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Spammie
    on

I am new to this….indeed today was my first day. Felt quite light headed when I was gardening earlier but that passed. After an evening meal I found I was missing my sweet treat but I am sure that is largely habit and hopefully that craving will disappear too. Although I am not diabetic I could benefit from losing a few pounds. My intention was to be quite strict during the week and then relax a bit at the weekends. I thought this would make entertaining and eating out easier. Does any have any experience or thoughts on this?

• posted by sunshine-girl
    on

In my experience, what happens when you relax at the weekend is you waste the whole of the week you have been dieting. My own example is last Friday weighed in with a 1.5 lb loss from Tuesday, very happy with that so decided on Sunday I could have a couple of glasses of wine. Okay, that doesn’t sound like too much, weigh in on Tuesday gained 1.5 lb, not an extra 1lb but the 1.5 lb I had spent Tuesday to Friday losing. So, although I had maintained my previous weeks weight I had just wasted all my hard work and effort.

It probably is just habit and as a non-diabetic you will not have the motivation to lose the needles and drugs from your life so maybe you can afford to let go, but do you really want to ruin the plan. Give it a go, it really does work when you stick to it.

I have been doing this plan for just over 9 months so have done the Fast 800 throughout that time with the occasional week off the calorie count but I never go back to eating carbs or sweet treats. During the first 8 weeks on the plan I had no increase in cals and no alcohol at all and lost 50% of my total desired weight loss so a very good start for the future.