Problem with eating enough fat?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by twofishjb
    on

Hi all,
    am hoping someone can help with some advice . I am new to the Fast 800, although I have tried the 5:2 and paleo/low carb/IF etc in the past with good results & have always eaten fat (butter;cream full fat milk etc) and avoided “lite” “sugar free” fat free” stuff but just seem to have added too many carbs to my diet recently !
    I started just over a week ago and now have myself more organised have bought the books etc. Weight loss so far is 4lb I need to lose another 10 – 14 lb . Mind you, I feel that I look as if i have lost more than 4lb which is strange !!
    I am aiming and succeeding at keeping carbs below about 40g & some days even below 20g, Protein around 55- 60 g but struggle then to have enough fat ( I think ) for example today I ate 2 hard boiled eggs with a little mayo/mustard and a few pieces of chorizo for lunch 297 cals ; 15.5 g protein ; <5g carbs; 22g fat and later having half of a Easy chicken tagine recipe (from the book, totally delish btw) = 447 cals 17 g fat and 27g carbs and 41g protein . I might be able to fit in a coffee and cream later and that makes the fat about 41-43 g which is actually better than I’ve managed on previous days because if I aim for 60g of protein I then sacrifice the fat!
    Am I doing something wrong and how much fat should I be aiming for whilst on the 800 a day ?? I have tried to find this info but haven’t so far.

thank you

• posted by JGwen
    on

Hi, Welcome to the forum.