Picky eater

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Shublo
    on

Hi everyone

I’ve been reading a bit about BDS and came across these forums so I thought I would join.
    I am not diabetic just need to lose weight. Recently realised just how much I have gained when I couldn’t fit into a dress from just over a year ago.
    Diets are really difficult for me cos I’m such a picky eater. And I eat at my desk at work out of boredom sweets chocolates crisps etc. All day. I absolutely love Coke and really don’t want to give it up. It’s the one thing I look forward to in the evenings.
    I’ve never followed a diet plan so it’s gonna be really difficult for me.

• posted by Californiagirl
    on

Welcome Shublo — good to have you join us. I am a veteran of a year and a half and I’m in maintenance mode after losing about 45 pounds. I sincerely recommend buying the BSD diet book and reading it cover to cover, then as someone else said before, read it again!
    It is important to understand this new way of thinking — especially because you are a newbie on dieting in general and this is a TOTALLY new way of thinking about food.
    Most importantly though, and something to start on right now, is cutting back on the simple carbohydrates like crisps and chocolate and Coke. Simple sugars like those are the reason you are gaining weight — they trigger insulin production and insulin is your “fat storage” hormone.
    You need to get your insulin levels as low as you possibly can and that means trying to get your carbohydrate intake down to 20-50 grams of carbohydrate per day — the lower the better.
    As you read the book and get more into the swing of things, shout out with any questions — there are so many successful people here who can answer almost any question and can guide you —