Low and high blood sugar levels

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by LisaBrit
    on

Hi all,

I’m just looking for some advice please. I’ve been nudging the prediabetic range for a few years, but was shocked when I recently started recording ( since Jan) my fasting sugar in the morning and during the day when I feel very shaky. Fasting levels are up in the 6 range, and this morning over 7, even though levels post dinner 2 hours are around 6. When shaky, they sometimes fall to 4. I think I may have hypoglycaemia and read somewhere to have protein before bed, so trying that at the moment.

My question is, is it safe to do this diet? If I did the fast800, I’m concerned that I might have sugar lows. Should I try and ride these out? Will this help my body reset the sugar levels. Hypoglycaemia advice is when low is to have something sugary, but that is in conflict with the BSD? I’m just trying to work out the right approach.
    Thanking you.

• posted by sunshine-girl
    on

Hi LisaBrit, welcome to the site and I hope we can be of some help. First of all I would say it is not safe if you have uncontrolled diabetes and dont know what you are doing. So there are several things we should know before we give advice. For example, are you still pre-diabetic, have you had a proper blood test (HbA1c) or a glucose tolerance test. When did you last see a doctor about the pre-diabetes (or diabetic nurse). Why are you doing regular blood tests yourself, were you advised to. Are you on any medication for diabetes or any other condition. Are you already doing low carb low calorie.

I take it from your wording that you havent had any hypo type episodes but are worried you might have them if you do the 800 cals.